Call Now
1800 102 5277

Rabindra Bharati University Kolkata

Updated on: Feb 7, 2013
Do you love to take part in dance and music concert or play a part in the dramatic performances? Then you should definitely take admission in Rabindra Bharati University in Kolkata.

The first thing that strikes the mind of the students visiting the campus of Rabindra Bharati University is its serene atmosphere with close connections to the natural environment. It is indeed the place,

“Where the head is held high/ and the mind is without fear; where knowledge is free;
Where the world has not broken up/ into fragments by narrow domestic walls”

As the name gives away, the university was founded as mark of respect towards the great literary figure of Bengal, Rabindranath Tagore, on the occasion of his 100th birth year. The Rabindra Bharati University has created a different meaning of education for its students, which includes enrichment through participation in cultural programmes like folk fairs and art exhibitions.

The Rabindra Bharati University, one of the Universities in Kolkata, accepts application for admission in its various courses in the month of April. The notifications for admissions are given in the official website of the university from time to time.

The Rabindra Bharati University course includes research paper of the works of Tagore, which makes it the Mecca for students who adore the works of Tagore. Apart from that the students can also enroll themselves in courses offering training in Vocal Music and Rabindra Sangeet, Instrumental Music, Dance, Visual Arts, Painting and Sculpture.

Established in the year 1962, the Rabindra Bharati University in Kolkata has created a niche of its own in the educational scenario of the city.

Faculties & Departments

The Rabindra Bharati University is producing excellent results in the fields of Arts, Humanities, Applied and Fine Arts and due to this superb performance, this educational institute has crated a special identity of its own at the national level. Academic curriculum of this university especially focuses on various subjects of Arts and Humanities, Fine Arts and Visual Arts. Faculties in Rabindra Bharati University are always ready to provide students with all those academic and academic related facilities, through which they can establish themselves in their dream career. Members of all these faculties are experts in their respective fields of study and students always get best range quality of guidance from them.

Rabindra Bharati University Faculties is divided into three parts and there are total twenty four departments altogether under these three faculties. The entire undergraduate, postgraduate, research/doctoral level and degree/certificate level courses all are governed under these faculties and departments. Here follows the list of departments, which come under the respective faculties of study.

The Faculty of Arts

The faculty of Arts of the Rabindra Bharati University consists of eleven departments. Here follows list of the departments:
  • Department of Bengali
  • Centre for Studies and Research on Tagore
  • Department of English
  • Department of Sanskrit
  • School of Vedic Studies
  • Department of History
  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of Political Science
  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Education
  • Department of Library and Information Science
The Faculty of Fine Arts

The Faculty of Fine Arts emphasizes on those subjects, which help the students excel in the subjects related to visual and fine arts. This faculty is constituted by seven departments, such as:
  • Department of Rabindra Sangeet (Songs composed by Rabindranath Tagore)
  • Department of Vocal Music
  • Department of Instrumental Music
  • Department of Dance
  • Department of Drama
  • Department of Musicology
  • Department of Mass Communication and Videography
The Faculty of Visual Arts

The Faculty of Visual Arts of Rabindra Bharati University is of national repute. Comprising only six departments, this faculty has created a special niche for its own in the wide academic curriculum arena of the Rabindra Bharati University. Here follows the list of departments under this faculty:
  • Department of Painting
  • Department of Sculpture
  • Department of Graphics (Print Making)
  • Department of History of Art
  • Department of Applied Art
  • Department of Museology
For further information related to RBU Kolkata click on the links provided below:

Subscribe to our newsletter

Learn all about Kolkata
Explore our interactive map!